The September 28 issue of the New York Times carried this thought-provoking article.  It opens with these words, “Americans are by all measures a deeply religious people, but they are also deeply ignorant about religion.”  I was interested to learn that atheists and agnostics scored better on a quiz dealing with general issues of religion than the people who hold to those religions.  I think it underscores the fact that for too many Americans, religion is based more upon feelings than fact.  If we are ever going to see the world won to Jesus, then we ought to pay more attention to knowing what we believe, why we believe, and how it makes a difference in our lives.

The article quotes Dave Silverman, president of American Atheists, who says, “I have heard many times that atheists know more about religion than religious people,” Mr. Silverman said. “Atheism is an effect of that knowledge, not a lack of knowledge. I gave a Bible to my daughter. That’s how you make atheists.”  I think Mr. Silverman’s ideas are living proof of the biblical truth that the human mind is darkened and dead to spiritual things, unless the Holy Spirit awakens understanding.  I would argue that giving a Bible to someone is more likely to make a believer than an atheist, because it is “living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword.”

Friends, we have to be diligent to love the LORD our God with all our MINDS,  as the Great Commandment says.  As I said in the sermon this past Sunday, “We have to do better!”

You can read the entire article here. By the way, I got six out of six correct in the sample quiz (that’s a relief!).

