Well, another year has come and gone, and it’s time to consider what the year ahead might bring.  This morning our men’s group considered Proverbs 16:9, “A man’s heart plans his way, but the LORD determines his steps.” (HCSB)  I was reminded of the folly of how we usually make our plans — we decide what we want to do, make plans to do it, then we ask God to bless it.  I’ve never been very big on New Year’s resolutions, but there is wisdom in planning and setting goals for our lives, under the Lordship and leadership of Christ.

On December 31, Baptist Press ran an article by Kelly Boggs that I found both interesting and helpful. Boggs quotes Steven Covey (whose words I usually approach with caution) regarding “4 assumptions” for making the New Year more meaningful and fruitful.

1. “For the body, assume you have had a heart attack; now live accordingly.”

I found the first assumption sobering, because if I don’t change certain aspects of my life, I could well be a candidate for a coronary. So by assuming, or pretending, I have had one, I simply need to ask, “Will this help or hurt my health?

2. “For the mind, assume the half-life of your profession is two years; now prepare accordingly.”

Being an editor of what currently is primarily a print publication, this is not a difficult assumption for me. As a result, I must constantly be looking to the future to not only seek to retool my publication, but also my own knowledge base and skill set.

3. “For the heart, assume everything you say about another, they can overhear; now speak accordingly.”

The third assumption also is a sobering one and reminiscent of Jesus’ words, “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” Enough said.

4. “For the spirit, assume you have a one-on-one visit with your Creator every quarter; now live accordingly.”

As a believer, I don’t have to wait three months to visit with God. I can, and should meet with Him constantly. However, the thought of scheduling a regular “performance review” with the Lord could and should have an impact on my daily decisions and thus my life.

Boggs is correct here, of course.  We need to have a “one-on-one visit with your Creator” daily, not quarterly.  Nevertheless, these are good guidelines for approaching the New Year.

As always, I encourage you to read the entire article.  Here is the link.

I pray that we all would be found faithful to obey and glorify the One, True, Living God in the coming year.

The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with all of you.  (2 Cor. 13:13)

