A long time ago, I picked up a habit that makes some folks chuckle and drives others mad.  Whenever someone asks me what I plan to preach about on Sunday, I always say, “Sin — I’m agin’ it!”  I would hope that every Christian is truly agin (against, for those of you who don’t speak Southernese) sin.  One thing that I have come to realize the older I get is that most of us don’t seem to have a good grip on what sin truly is, or how absolutely offensive and detestable it is to God.  We all like to justify our actions and attitudes to cover up or minimize our sin.  For instance, I’ve talked to Christian parents who have reasoned that it is okay for their teenaged daugther to have an abortion because she shouldn’t have to sacrifice her life to raise a child.  Or the guy who says, “It’s okay for me to divorce my wife so I can be with another woman.  You don’t know how bad things are between my wife and me!”  For every sin a human being can commit, there is a Christian somewhere who thinks that God’s standards of righteousness and obedience somehow don’t apply to him or her. 

I saw an interesting article regarding sin this morning.  Reporter Allie Martin opens the piece with this line, “A new survey finds many inconsistencies among Americans when it comes to beliefs about sin.”  She continues, “Ron Sellers, president of Ellison Research, says while most Americans believe in the concept of sin, there are inconsistencies when it comes to what qualifies as sin.”  What is needed is a genuine, honest biblical concept of sin, instead of leaving morals and ethics up to the individual.  At this time of year when we remember and consider the significance of the death of our Savior, when “He made Him who knew no sin to become sin on our behalf,” we would do well to do a little bit of spiritual house cleaning. 

The concluding line of the article is right on target, “Sellers says the survey shows a need by pastors to investigate and dialogue about absolute truth and sin with members of their congregations.”  We are called to be courageous as we consider sin in our midst, beginning with ourselves.  If you’ve stayed with me long enough to read this line, I beg you to spend some time searching your heart for hidden, unconfessed, self-justifying sin.  Confess it to God, and if there is another whom your sin affects, confess it to that person as well.  Remember, “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  Dear ones, this is the key to revival.  So I will continue to declare, “Sin — I’m agin’ it!”  Will you join me?

You can read the article in its entirety by clicking here.

