I was just reminded that today is President Abraham Lincoln’s birthday by a stirring article by John Piper.  Here in the middle of an election year, I often find myself pondering the spiritual condition of our nation, and the direction we may take after the election.  We would do well to look back and consider the foundation that has been laid by those who went before us.   

Consider Piper’s observation:

In 1862, when Lincoln was 53 years old, his 11-year-old son Willie died. Lincoln’s wife “tried to deal with her grief by searching out New Age mediums.” Lincoln turned to Phineas Gurley, pastor of the New York Avenue Presbyterian Church in Washington. Several long talks led to what Gurley described as “a conversion to Christ.” Lincoln confided that he was “driven many times upon my knees by the overwhelming conviction that I have nowhere else to go.”

Similarly, the horrors of the dead and wounded soldiers assaulted him daily. There were fifty hospitals for the wounded in Washington. The rotunda of the Capitol held 2,000 cots for wounded soldiers. Typically, fifty soldiers a day died in these temporary hospitals. All of this drove Lincoln deeper into the providence of God. “We cannot but believe, that He who made the world still governs it.”

I encourage you to read the full article.  You can read it here.  I have also read Olasky’s article from World magazine, and recommend it to you as well.  That article can be viewed here.  Just in case you want to see it in hard copy, I have this issue and would be happy to share it with you. 

I guess the bottom line of all this is pretty simple.  Whatever happens on election day, we can be confident that God is in control, even when things seem otherwise.  As Lincoln himself concluded so many years ago, “We cannot help but believe, that He who made the world still governs it.”  Amen, Mr. Lincoln.  Remember the words of our Savior, “These things I have spoken to you, so that in Me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33 (NASB) 

