Yesterday was a first for me.  I have been serving as a pastor for almost eight years, in three churches now, and this is the first time any church has ever formally recognized that October is “Pastor Appreciation Month.”  I’ve had a couple individuals acknowledge the fact, but this year is the first time it’s ever been church-wide.  The saints at First Baptist decorated my lovely wife and me with flowers, they honored us with a potluck, and they gave us gifts.  I have to say that it was nice to be thanked in a public way.  Thank you, and God bless you for taking seriously the words of Scripture, “The elders who rule well are to be considered worthy of double honor, expecially those who work hard at preaching and teaching.” 

I have to be careful that I don’t let this go to my head.  After all, I’m a pastor because of God’s call on my life, not in search of public acclaim.  It is His Kingdom that I want to expand, not my own.  Still, I want to proclaim to anyone who might be interested that I feel appreciated here.  Thanks, and God Bless you. 

If anyone reading this is not a part of First Baptist’s fellowship, the month of October is not over yet.  Be sure to show some appreciation to your pastor. 

