A recent articl in The Courier caught my attention.  It begins,

“DES MOINES — Gay rights activists celebrated after the Iowa House took a historic vote Wednesday [Aril 25] to extend civil rights protections to gays and lesbians, giving approval to the measure in the waning days of this year’s session of the Iowa Legislature.

The bill heads to Gov. Chet Culver for an expected signature.”
 

I must admit that I did not participate in the election of any of the people who have perpetrated this great evil on our state because I only recently moved here.  For that I am grateful.  I did receive an e-mail alert from a socially alert member of our congregation, to which I replied by e-mailing the appropriate state legislators.  Maybe I am just not in the information loop yet, but it seems to me that there is a lack of moral concern regarding the liberal state government here in Iowa.  It truly saddens me to know that many of our church people have voted to put those people in office, and yet they don’t seem to think it matters when they pass legislation that is so openly opposed to biblical standards of decency. 

The article states, “No one spoke in opposition of the bill during the floor debate.”  The Iowans I have come to know are good, decent people who seem to value life and wholesome morality.  Where are they in the halls of government?  As a wise man has said, “All it takes for evil to prevail is for good men to do nothing.”  What are we thinking?  We’re giving away the farm, folks!  Let me remind you of James 4:4 (which I preached on just a couple weeks ago), “You adultresses, do you not know that friendship with the world is hostility toward God?  Therefore, whoever wishes to be a friend of the world makes himself an enemy of God?”  Dear friends, if we don’t wake up soon, we will find ourselves losing our voice completely. 

